See photos (2)

Sainte-Rose-de-Lima Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument in Le Robert
  • As early as 1687, probably near the pier, there was a chapel dependent on the parish of La Trinité and dedicated to Saint Rose de Lima, patron saint of Dominican monks.

  • In 1694, the creation of a separate parish church by Labat led to the construction of a wooden chapel and presbytery on a new site.
    The original parish sanctuary was replaced in 1743 by a masonry church, destroyed by the 1813 cyclone, and rebuilt in 1824. The earthquake of 1839 completely damaged the church and the bell tower. Raised and enlarged by a side nave in 1842, it was ruined by the 1891 cyclone. Mr. Bélus' town council repaired the building the following year.

    Rebuilt with a...
    In 1694, the creation of a separate parish church by Labat led to the construction of a wooden chapel and presbytery on a new site.
    The original parish sanctuary was replaced in 1743 by a masonry church, destroyed by the 1813 cyclone, and rebuilt in 1824. The earthquake of 1839 completely damaged the church and the bell tower. Raised and enlarged by a side nave in 1842, it was ruined by the 1891 cyclone. Mr. Bélus' town council repaired the building the following year.

    Rebuilt with a second nave in 1898, the parish church was devastated in 1981 by a fire that ravaged the roof and the bell tower, which were rebuilt the following year and in 1986 respectively.
Search
Close