See photos (3)

Sainte-Luce Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument in Sainte-Luce
  • A first church was built at the top of Morne-des-Pères, on the site of the former presbytery.

  • On October 21st 1817, a cyclone devastated the building. One month later, the parish assembly decided to raise the ruins of the presbytery so that it could serve as a church, but the lack of means caused the project to fail. Seven years after the cyclone, the presbytery was transformed into a chapel. Pierre Mouttet, master mason, and Joseph Linvak, master carpenter, were chosen to direct the work, which lasted two years. To pay them, the parishioners imposed very heavy charges on themselves,...
    On October 21st 1817, a cyclone devastated the building. One month later, the parish assembly decided to raise the ruins of the presbytery so that it could serve as a church, but the lack of means caused the project to fail. Seven years after the cyclone, the presbytery was transformed into a chapel. Pierre Mouttet, master mason, and Joseph Linvak, master carpenter, were chosen to direct the work, which lasted two years. To pay them, the parishioners imposed very heavy charges on themselves, at a rate of 72 pounds per slave. The building does not yet have a bell tower.

    In the 1850s, with the help of Father Lebrun and Mayor Milius Raboutet, an apse and a transept were added to the original rectangular plan and a wooden bell tower was erected. On January 18th 1860, the building was consecrated by Bishop Porchez. Its sober architecture is inspired by the small French rural Romanesque churches. A century later, in 1949, the church was enlarged a second time: two side wings were added and the original bell tower was rebuilt in reinforced concrete.
Search
Close