See photos (4)

Saint-Martin Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument in Le Morne-Vert
  • On July 14th 1846, Father Goux, priest of Le Carbet, drew the attention of the ecclesiastical authorities to the need to build a chapel in the hamlet of Morne-Vert.

  • A resident, Fernand Lecurieux-Richemond, proposed to offer land for the building, the presbytery and the cemetery, subject to three conditions: that he would have a bench in the chapel, that a mass would be celebrated for him every year in perpetuity, and that he could take back the land if the building was not built within three years after the donation. The land was officially donated on September 30th, 1856, but there were already plans to build a structure large enough for a population...
    A resident, Fernand Lecurieux-Richemond, proposed to offer land for the building, the presbytery and the cemetery, subject to three conditions: that he would have a bench in the chapel, that a mass would be celebrated for him every year in perpetuity, and that he could take back the land if the building was not built within three years after the donation. The land was officially donated on September 30th, 1856, but there were already plans to build a structure large enough for a population of about 1,400 inhabitants and no longer a simple chapel.

    A subscription was launched and work began in 1858. The population itself contributed to cutting the wood and transporting it from the mountains. A donation from Father Goux made it possible to remedy the lack of means. In 1865, Morne-Vert was erected as a parish, but it was not until 1872 that Father Lenormand, until then priest of Le Carbet, who served Morne-Vert twice a month, settled there definitively. This same abbot had the building enlarged.

    In 1926, however, a fire destroyed the presbytery and part of the church, which was later repaired over several years. In 1964, almost a century after the parish was founded, a new chapel was blessed in the Montjoly district.
Search
Close