See photos (4)

Notre-Dame-de-la-Nativité Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument in Schœlcher
  • Initially called " Case des Navires " by the sailors who stopped over in the islands because of its excellent anchorage, the district has a chapel.

  • It was enlarged and erected as a parish by Monsignor Le Herpeur in 1853, under the name of Notre-Dame-de-Case-Navire. It was separated from Fort-de-France and Anse Madame was added. Around 1878, the parish was erected as a town and took the name of Schoelcher. In 1888, the church was rebuilt in the opposite direction, enlarged and dedicated to Notre-Dame-de-la-Nativité.
    In 1986, major expansion and interior improvements were undertaken and would last nearly two years. The new church was...
    It was enlarged and erected as a parish by Monsignor Le Herpeur in 1853, under the name of Notre-Dame-de-Case-Navire. It was separated from Fort-de-France and Anse Madame was added. Around 1878, the parish was erected as a town and took the name of Schoelcher. In 1888, the church was rebuilt in the opposite direction, enlarged and dedicated to Notre-Dame-de-la-Nativité.
    In 1986, major expansion and interior improvements were undertaken and would last nearly two years. The new church was inaugurated on December 18th 1988.
    The municipality has three other cult places: the chapel of Fond Lahaye, the Benedictine monastery and the new church of Terreville inaugurated in 2007.
Search
Close