See photos (3)

Notre-Dame-de-la-Nativité Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument, Listed or registered (CNMHS) in Ducos
  • Ducos had only a small wooden chapel when, in 1857, the town council accepted the reconstruction of the church.

  • A mahogany bench of honour was first installed for the choir, new altars, including that of the Virgin, were installed, then chairs and a support for the communication table.
    The bell tower was rebuilt in 1859. The church, demolished by the 1891 hurricane, was the object of a reconstruction entrusted to the architect Henri Picq, from 1892 to 1899. Unfinished, the church was nevertheless blessed and given over to worship in 1901.
    The ravages of a new hurricane in 1903 led Paul Nardal, chief...
    A mahogany bench of honour was first installed for the choir, new altars, including that of the Virgin, were installed, then chairs and a support for the communication table.
    The bell tower was rebuilt in 1859. The church, demolished by the 1891 hurricane, was the object of a reconstruction entrusted to the architect Henri Picq, from 1892 to 1899. Unfinished, the church was nevertheless blessed and given over to worship in 1901.
    The ravages of a new hurricane in 1903 led Paul Nardal, chief engineer of the Bridges and Roads of Martinique, to rebuild the sacristy and the roof, then the coffered ceiling.
    It was entirely restored between 1990 and 1999.
Search
Close