See photos (4)
Religious building, Historic site and monument in Le Morne-Rouge
Warning: Unsecured hours
In place of the modest wooden chapel built in 1844, Monseigneur Le Herpeur, the first bishop of the island, had a solid church built, completed in 1867.
Completely destroyed by the 1891 hurricane, it was rebuilt in six months. Seriously damaged by the eruption of August 30th 1902, the church was repaired in 1907 by the priest Wetcher who modified its style. It suffered some more damage during the eruption of February 1929.
- See all reviews