On February 17th 1845, on the lands of Bassy dependent on Saint-Pierre, Abbot Goux, parish priest of Le Carbet, blessed a small oratory under the name of Saint-Denis, but which, later, was also dedicated to the Virgin Mary, as indicated by an 85 centimetre high stone statue placed after 1854.
It was also common practice at Fonds-Saint-Denis to place a statue of the Virgin on its land. The sanctuary was enlarged in 1854, at the initiative of Bishop Le Herpeur and at the expense of the diocese. The first parish priest arrived in 1861 and transformed the chapel into a small church.
It was further modified before or after the Second World War, perhaps at the same time as the cave (1934 or 1937). The bell tower dates from 1948.
- See all reviews