Notre-Dame-de-la-Visitation Church

Religious building, Historic site and monument in Gros-Morne
  • In 1751, the boundaries of the parish of Gros Morne were modified to allow the inhabitants of Galion, at their request, to be attached to the parish of La Trinité. The residents of Gros-Morne took advantage of this opportunity to transfer their church to less outlying land.

  • Jaham de Verpré directed the construction from 1753 to 1755. It became too small and was replaced by another building in 1774, on the present site. But the wooden building did not resist the 1813 hurricane.

    A new church was built of stone from 1824 to 1825. The earthquake of 1839 caused great damage there and led to the demolition of the bell tower. The building was not completely repaired until 1870, then refurbished in 1883.

    This church has inside a very beautiful frame in inverted...
    Jaham de Verpré directed the construction from 1753 to 1755. It became too small and was replaced by another building in 1774, on the present site. But the wooden building did not resist the 1813 hurricane.

    A new church was built of stone from 1824 to 1825. The earthquake of 1839 caused great damage there and led to the demolition of the bell tower. The building was not completely repaired until 1870, then refurbished in 1883.

    This church has inside a very beautiful frame in inverted hull and a splendid marble paving. Paintings by Father Arostéguy still adorn its walls.
Search
Close