See photos (2)
Historic site and monument in Fonds-Saint-Denis
CLOSED AT THE MOMENT.
Built in 1760 by slaves in order to supply water to the Saint-Pierre and Carbet distilleries, this ancient irrigation canal, hung on the hillside, overlooks the steep valley at the bottom of which the Carbet River flows.
The 7 km long Beauregard Canal is now called the " Slaves' Canal ". The water retaining wall, made of stones bound with lime, is 40 cm wide. The canal overhangs the river bed by 130 metres in some parts. The views of the Carbet peaks and the Caribbean are magnificent.
The hiking trail is not very difficult and consists of following the edge of the canal on the hillside, on a shady path (see Hiking section).
- See all reviews