The museum is located on the exceptional site of the former Esnotz battery, which dominates the town and opens onto the wide panorama of Saint-Pierre Bay dominated by the Mount Pelée. Founded in 1933 by vulcanologist Frank A. Perret – who witnessed the second sequence of eruptions in 1929 – it is the oldest museum in Martinique. This Musée de France is dedicated to the eruption of Mount Pelée, emphasizing a cultural approach to the catastrophe, highlighting the experience lived by the people of Martinique and its worldwide repercussions. The new Mémorial de la Catastrophe de 1902 – Musée Frank A.Perret opened its doors on May 8, 2019 in Saint-Pierre after a complete renovation.
Memorial to the 1902 disasterFranck A. Perret MuseumSaint-Pierre after the eruption of Montagne Pelée